Poetry Isn’t Frivolous

A very interesting post about poetry and books by Charlotte Digregorio.

Enjoy!

Charlotte Digregorio's Writer's Blog

I write to have people read what I write. Many of my friends tell me they don’t understand poetry because so much of it is frivolous. While there is a lot of nonsense written that people are trying to pass off as poetry, there is still good poetry around.

Thoughtful poetry helps us deal with what is happening in our lives. That’s why I post The Daily Haiku. It not only helps me deal with life’s experiences, but I feel my readers can benefit from having it in their lives.

When I wrote my book, Haiku and Senryu: A Simple Guide for All, many of my non-poet friends who don’t even read poetry, were kind of offended I didn’t gift them an autographed copy. I don’t tend to gift a book unless I know the person receiving it is going to read it. And, that goes for relatives, too! I…

View original post 176 altre parole

2 pensieri su “Poetry Isn’t Frivolous

Rispondi

